33 Things about my Life on my 33rd Birthday.

314681_10151175157667826_721013774_n

Today, I turn 33.

it's my birthday! cheers!

 

On a good note, I SO LOVE my early thirties.

I have been thinking a lot about what I have learned over the passed 32 years. How God blesses me each new day. 12,045 days of living on earth (whoa!) as I open my eyes welcoming my natal day, alive and well, I can say all my days are all new every morning. How great is God’s faithfulness.

Since I turn 33 today, I love to share 33 things about myself, my life in the world of blogging.

33 Things about my life on my 33rd.

1. I’m a Christian, a follower of our Lord Jesus Christ. I strive daily to keep my life centered on Him. I am in love with our Creator and cannot imagine myself doing anything without Him in my life. I’m able to write this post because of the skills He had given me. I am alive and have found the true meaning of life because of our Lord Jesus Christ. I thank Him not just for the blessings at the same time for all the challenges I faced, I’m facing and will face, for He’s continuously changing and shaping my life. He hones me to be a better testimony of His goodness and faithfulness although I don’t deserve it. The salvation that He has given me I know is the greatest gift I have ever received or will ever receive in my entire life. All the many wonderful people, things, moments, experience both ups & downs and countless blessings. I owe everything to Him and I pray that whatever this life brings me; He will find me faithful, strongly standing on my faith.

In my life, being a Christian is the main thing that best defines me.

 I really pray I can live and practice my faith for His greater glory.

I am nothing, without GOD.

Sharing this wonderful poem.

When I say I am A Christian...

2. I love my family so much they are my priceless treasures. 2012 is quite a challenging year for me. This year I become an orphan. 1989, my Papa, in his 40’s passed away and this year my Mama in her 60’s, they finally went back home to be with the LORD. I terribly miss the feeling of having both of my parents alive. The more I realized their value in my life and my responsibilities of being the Ate. I miss Mama’s preparation for my birthday and everything about her, I miss her terribly.

3. I’m the eldest child, I have 3 younger sisters. So in our family, it’s Girl Power! My childhood memories with my siblings and cousins – one of the sweetest.

4. I admire most two women in my life. My Mama and my Aunt Agnes, they are God’s wonderful blessings. I thank God for using them to hone me to be the kind of person that I am now. A big part of who I am, it’s because of them. I have my flaws and imperfections but these two are the most kind, humble, understanding and generous women I ever met. In all my ups and downs, struggles, dreams that I fulfilled, they incessantly help and support me all the way. I will be forever grateful and I know I can never out give what they shared to me and with tearful eyes I want to express how much I love both of you.

5. I love reading and writing so much. I really miss doing it frequently. Most especially keeping diaries started penning when I was 10. I still try to write some journals but usually only when I travel. My favorite books of course the best book ever written – the Holy Bible and Amazing Results of Positive Thinking by Dr. Norman Vincent Peale.

6. I really miss all my long distant friends and family members. They are the ones that I don’t talk to often enough, but when I do it feels like we spoke yesterday. I have only a few true friends in life so I embrace special friendships.

7. I love laughing. I thank God for blessing me a natural sense of humor, I’m not bragging that attitude but if you’re that close to me, you’ll see that I have my funny side. I blurt out jokes without any intentions of joking. I can laugh really loud. Humor-tried and tested, it’s truly an effective method to lighten up; I also use it when I’m teaching.

8. I badly want to be a better writer, it’s my frustration. If I have a chance to choose another profession, I’ll choose to be a writer/journalist or maybe a lawyer.

9. I realized that teaching is my passion. I never thought that this will be my bread and butter. I so loved it that when I teach most of my students and colleagues will tell me that I don’t need a microphone my voice is so loud that they can hear me from the other rooms, and when I explain things, it’s so vivid and full of spontaneity. They usually ask me what’s the secret for all the energy. No more, no less my Creator, never ending gratitude to my Creator for the gifts He graciously gives. I thank God for allowing me to discover and do the things that I love and working for one’s own passion is one of the most incredible opportunities one could ever had.

10. I wake up students who are sleeping in my class although it happens very seldom, if I caught one, I ask them to go back to their dormitory if they want to sleep, but of course there will be consequences if one tries to, anyway no one dares to do it or else…

11. I love traveling, who doesn’t? I’ve been to several countries, and it’s filled with unforgettable and fascinating experiences for me. I usually plan all my travel trips and I avoid going thru a traveling agency. I manage to try adventures by learning as much as I can about the place that I’m going before I get there so I can prepare myself. Thinking ahead is an essential key to navigating any country or any city without burning out. I love strolling when I travel. Until my feet get sore, I don’t give up. I realized traveling on my own is more exciting.Thank God for allowing me to roam  His wonderful creations.

12. I don’t like rushing. I walk using my baby steps; I take time to do things, slowly but surely. Through this, I try to enjoy and appreciate my surroundings.

13. I have learned how to budget my finances through the years of being God’s channel of blessing in my family; it’s a skill that needs a lot of practice and experience. Nowadays our present world is full of beautiful things to tempt and lure us to spend much and it will never run out for sure, so having financial freedom is so essential for me.

14. I don’t drink milk; I puke if I tasted it, sounds weird. For example, I don’t put milk on top of “halo-halo” but I do eat fruit-salads, ice-creams (except for vanilla flavor) and leche flan, some people find it strange.

15. I drink too much caffeine; admittedly I’m a coffee-addict. My fave- Frappucinno Java Chip with no cream and black coffee medium blend. Like what I mentioned I don’t like the milky taste so even creamer is a no-no for me.

16. I had 3 boyfriends in my entire life haha, now this is what you call a confession. No flirting, MU and whatsoever, my first one at the age of 15, (puppy love) I used to be one of those teenagers who belong to the hopeless romantic club, please don’t judge me, its part of teenage life. Most of the relationships lasted for years and then gone, remember if it’s meant to be it’s meant-to-be. Moving on with my life I’m happy and blessed the last one is now my better-half and we’re on our way, going to our 6th year.

17. My bed, hotel beds, on the floor, in the car, on the train, on the plane doesn’t matter where as soon as my head is rested I would knock out and fall straight asleep even ‘a brigade of guards could march but sometimes it would not wake me up’ (lol). I love lying on my cozy bed just sleeping and relaxing, feeling so mellow & comfortable it’s so nice to just stretch, feel the warmth of my bed just embracing the peace of mind sleep graciously gives. I can have 12 hours straight sleep when there are no morning classes or appointments and during weekends, for sure a lovely day awaits me!

18. I don’t like wearing sneakers or the so called rubber shoes I think it makes me look shorter.

19. My favorite color is sky-blue, powder blue and all shades of blue. So if you want to make me happy even a simple thing with shades of blue can put a smile on my face.

20. I really used to admire Winnie d’ Pooh because of its sweet, naive look considering it’s a bear, not sure though of its gender. I have a pink Winnie d’ Pooh designed casual dress that I’d loved to wear way back college days and almost 12 years had passed when I went back home to Pinas for vacation surprisingly, I saw one of my younger sisters still wearing it (good quality).

21. I really don’t like hand washing clothes and also washing dishes. I would rather clean the house for a day, involve my self in general cleaning projects at home but washing uhhmm, my grips are not too strong. When I was young my late Dad asked me to repeat the dishes that I already washed not just once but sometimes I have to repeat it thrice, I can almost see my own image on the plates (lol). He kept on reminding me that as a girl I should learn how to do household chores properly and washing dishes should be one of my trainings. So, I won’t miss this chance of extending my gratitude to the inventors of washing machines with automatic dryer and also dish-washing machines two thumbs up to both of you, inventors really make our life easier.

22. I used to join Math and Spelling quiz bees, declamation contest when I was young but when I reached college days I was so confused with all the long complicated symbols, numbers, combined with the letters of the alphabet and so on just like Differential Equations, my brain nerves bleed with all those mind-blowing never-ending mathematical equations which are common in engineering courses. Papa was my disciplinarian tutor in my studies most especially in Math, it’s his forte. When he passed away I realized the value of having someone to teach and guide me in my studies, ever since then I have to do most of the homework, projects, lessons on my own. People, cherish your parents remember they are also growing old (once a famous quote shared on Facebook).

23. I always carry my precious camera. I take it everywhere with me wherever I go and take pictures. Memories captured on it are priceless.

24. I’m an acrophobic, I’ve developed fear of heights like hiking on mountains, riding roller coasters, cable cars, and visiting highest skyscrapers but still I tried them, most of the time I agreed ‘cause of peer pressure haha. I thank God for sustaining me to overcome it.

25. Any kind of “ginataan” is my favorite food and also pasta dishes. I think I could eat it for lunch and dinner every day!

26. When a cuisine is so good, I keep on talking  how delicious it is for so many days, what a long hang-over, the people around me maybe will be annoyed haha, ’cause I’m so kulit, and pauli-ulit.

27. I always have 20/20 vision, though I’m such a book-worm and a computer addict. Since birth I have never tried wearing eye-glasses and also contact lens for the sole purpose of reading or seeing clearly, maybe in the future but hopefully not too soon.

28. I’ve been a procrastinator in some areas of my life, I want some changes, but I just keep putting it off. I’m not proud of it and sincerely I hope to overcome it.

29. My favorite alone time is spent at a store; it could be in supermarkets, malls, bookstore sometimes even a convenience store. I’m just like a hunter, meticulously hunting for treasures.

30. I’ll splurge on bags, shoes and techie gadgets – they are my weaknesses, sometimes feeling guilty on buying them until a few years later when I know I’ve gotten my money’s worth. One more thing I avoid wearing painful shoes. They’re just not worth it. I now prefer flat ones and kitten heels, 2 inches high won’t hurt.

31. I’m quite moody; sometimes I just don’t feel like talking. I believe we have our mood swings. If I suddenly change the tone of my voice in a lower tone it means I’m not in the mood, the worst if ever I’m silent it means I’m pissed off about something.

32. I’d been bankrupt. I experienced how to own and ran a business a few years ago together with my two good friends; an outsourcing company, we tried so hard to establish it and it’s never easy. I was a novice then, should I say the three of us. After a few years things didn’t turn up well; we have to shut it down. I realized and learned a lot from that humbling experience and I can say looking back that’s one of the lowest points of my life. That part of my life, had taught me so many lessons. It’s been years  by God’ graciousness in my life He helps me all the way to recover just like in Job’s story in the Holy Bible, He blesses me in so many uncountable ways that’s incredibly far more than I imagine it to be. I’m able to be victorious in all those trials because I have a Victorious God who stand by me. Though there times I’m haunted by my greatest regret – it’s not about the lost investments, it’s the reality that I lost friends, friendships I once treasured most.  and though I haven’t seen them and I still wonder where they are now. With all sincerity I do wish and pray that wherever they are their lives are better, peaceful and happy.

33. I don’t fear death.  An added year on my age is a celebration it means I’m getting closer to the dawn of life. I’m looking forward to going home to my Creator. Nothing compares spending eternity with Jesus. No one knows but no matter how painful it is I believe there’s beauty in death, we will all pass away. I’m being reminded of recent memories when Mama’s physical body was being buried deeply underground, I told myself we will all pass away, that it is just the physical body. I know our final destination is not of this world, I thank the Lord for giving me an eternal life because this world is just temporary it will not lasts. Having just one life isn’t so bad if you live it to its fullest, fulfilling the purpose of God in one’s life. We’re blessed enough to be born on this planet, at this point of time. I enjoy it while I can. So while I’m still alive, I learn how to celebrate life. Getting older is something to celebrate.

 So on my natal day, on being 33,

I’m happily embracing my age.

Life is a gift, a gift from the Almighty Powerful God.

To all my friends and loved ones thanks for being a part of my life, for celebrating with me,  each one of you is God’s precious gift in my life.

Let’s celebrate life, Cheers!

Leave a comment